Run Monster

What Half Marathon?

Since running the Hot Chocolate 15k on 4/6, I’ve continued training for my summer half marathon. After this weeks’ long run, though, I had the thought, “What summer half marathon?” I realized that I haven’t yet signed up for a race!

I’m considering doing the  1/2 Sauer 1/2 Kraut Half Marathon because I’m half German. I kid, but this race involves beer and bratwurst which is awesome and original for a race.

Screen shot 2014-04-23 at 8.33.01 AM

More importantly, it falls right in the middle of June which, I now believe, is going to be my ideal time to race given my training. Because of the recent 15k and the upcoming Broad Street Run on 5/4, I’ve had to extend my 9 week training plan to an 11 week one in order to give myself post-race recovery weeks.

The week of 4/7 – 4/13 was one of these recovery weeks, and my workouts looked like this:

4/8 – 3 miles @ 9:45 pace (treadmill)

4/9 – 4 miles @ 9:00 pace

4/11 – 3.25 miles @ 9:00 pace + squats, lunges, etc.

4/12 – 3 miles @ 9:14 pace

4/13 – 8 miles @ 10:00 pace (run with a friend)

Weekly mileage: 21.25

 

This recovery week left me craving some fast running again, so the week that followed (this past week) looked like this:

4/15 – 1 mile warmup, 2×1 mile @ 10k race pace (6:52, 6:45) with 800m recovery, 6x200m @ 5k race pace (5:48, 6:06, 6:01, 5:59, 5:57, 5:55) with 200m recovery, 1 mile cool down

4/16 – 4 miles @ 9:18 pace

4/18 – 3 miles @ 8:30 pace + squats, lunges, etc.

4/19 – LOTS of walking (easily 4-5 miles; bf was visiting and sight-seeing took priority over a run)

4/20 – 10 miles @ 8:00 pace:

Sunday long run

Sunday long run

*Note: I would have run the last mile at a pace closer to 7:50 except that I had to stop about a quarter mile in and, in true Run Monster fashion, find a hidden place to make an emergency pit stop. My stomach was cramping and I was trying not to become that runner who pooped her pants, hence the slower pace. TMI. Forgive me.

Weekly mileage: 24-28

This week so far I’ve done one 4 mile run @ 9:00 pace, but today will be a hard pace workout: 1 mile warmup, 4 miles @ race pace (7:30), 1 mile @ 10k race pace (7:00), 1 mile cool down. I’m nervous for it, but I’ve been sufficiently inspired by creeping on a myriad of runners’ Instagram accounts in the past few days. During/after the Boston Marathon, I found tons of cool Instagram accounts devoted to running and I’ve been obsessing over them ever since.

Also, can we take a moment to celebrate Meb Keflezighi winning Boston?? I’m so excited that an American won! In my lifetime, such a thing has not occurred (apparently the last time an American won the Boston Marathon was 1983). Lina informed me that female American Shalane Flanagan posted a roughly 3 minute personal best as well (a time which would have won last years’ race), so all around it was a beautiful day for American distance running.

-Run Monster

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
