Run Monster

Wintry antics.

I went on a 4 mile run yesterday outside, and I have to admit, I did it mostly out of some weird need to “show winter” that it couldn’t keep me down. Were the conditions safe to run in? No, not really, but I tread carefully and accepted beforehand that pace wasn’t something I was going to care about. I treated the run as an adventure, and recognized it as a truly rare opportunity to soak up some vitamin D on the little bit of cheek skin I dared to leave exposed.

I got splashed by puddles of freezing water as cars drove by; I had to run on a busy road for a few yards because the sidewalk disappeared under mountains of plowed snow; I had to walk very carefully over a treacherous driveway that hadn’t been salted like all the others around it; I meandered through parking lots in order to increase my mileage since salted sidewalks only came in chunks of about 1/8 miles. But damn it, I ran outside. And it felt good.

Before braving the streets.

Before braving the streets.

This run came after the 5th snow day of the semester, during which I literally sat in bed all day. I just had to get out. Also, if I zoom out and look at the last few months, I feel like I’ve been resting my legs and recovering since October, which lends to this feeling of idleness. Yes, I’ve run a handful of successful races since then, but I haven’t managed to do any focused training and I’m really ready to start that again.

I’ve noticed other people out on the sidewalks, walking and running, and they all have the same scowl on their faces that I can only imagine I had on during my run yesterday. I’m almost positive those people are out giving winter the proverbial finger just like I was, and it makes me happy to be reminded that we’re all in this together. I love knowing that there are others out there who are being driven batty by mother nature and her wintry antics.

Huge snow mound outside my school. Not thrilled.

Huge snow mound outside my school. Not thrilled.

I’ll confess that running in the cold has it’s perks. I, for example, don’t sweat profusely during my winter runs and therefore don’t have to think about hydration constantly. But I miss the sun, and I miss uninterrupted sidewalks. I’m ready for spring.

-Run Monster

4 comments on “Wintry antics.

  1. run100run
    February 16, 2014

    i have enjoyed your blog. i would love for you to follow my running journey. run100run.wordpress.com

    • runmonster
      February 16, 2014

      Your goal of running 325.1 km in the last week of the year is quite impressive! That will be more than three times my highest ever weekly mileage. Very cool, very original.

  2. linagrant
    March 17, 2014

    running with you last winter was fun, but probably because a) you were with me and b) it was not nearly as snowy/cold as it has been this winter. Spring couldn’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2014 by in Weekly Runs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
