Run Monster

The End of an Era.

Lina moved away. And I’m sad.

We did one last run together last Sunday, which was really wonderful because we hadn’t been running together much due to holidays and busy schedules. It felt so good to settle into an easy pace, right exactly next to each other, and let our thoughts come rolling off our tongues. Ever since the first run I did with Lina, it has always been so easy to run and talk with her. I miss that so much already.

It was a rare gift to find a running buddy like Lina. We are so well-matched in pace and ability, yet we have these miraculously complementary strengths and weaknesses. I think we also both possess a love for openness and conversation that enabled us to get really close in just one short year, and very quickly we moved from running buddies to close friends.

As it happened, Lina and her boyfriend moved nearly 6 months earlier than they were originally planning, and even though I would always have felt like I wanted more time with her, there’s a sudden-ness about her leaving that’s kind of brutal. My weekends are going to be far less exciting and accomplished without Lina around to make me run 16 miles and then eat an indulgent breakfast.

IMG_3683

 

Luckily for us we can still communicate over text/calls/facebook, and there are already plans in the making for Lina and I to run in the Philly half this November. I loved Ann Arbor when we were there after the Chicago marathon, so I also would jump at an opportunity to visit her there. At the end of the day, I know that moving was the decision that would make Lina the happiest, and I support it for that reason alone.

Of course, I still miss her and  even though I know I will get used to her absence, I’m bummed that I have to.

-Run Monster

2 comments on “The End of an Era.

  1. Lina
    February 7, 2014

    WAHHHH this post made me so sad and sent me down an iphoto-spiraling sobfest!!!!!! 😦 I MISS YOU!

    • runmonster
      February 7, 2014

      I could have written so much more and decided not to because it made me too sad. Waaaaahhhhhh. 😦

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2014 by in Uncategorized.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
