Run Monster

Timed Mile.

I’ve been wanting to know for months how fast I can run a mile. Each speed workout made me increasingly curious about it, and Lina had similar sentiments so we decided to time ourselves in a mile as part of our speed workout this week. I’m happy to announce that like a fine wine, we’ve gotten better with age. Both of us beat our high school PR’s (take that teenage-selves!)!! Hooray!!

Yay!

Yay!

Of course, this tells me close to nothing about how I will fare in Chicago, but it feels nice to have beaten a goal I’ve held onto for a decade, namely, breaking 6 minutes in the mile.  (Sidenote: I peed myself a little every few steps in the last 200m when I was really pushing it…that’s definitely a new thing. I may be faster than my 17 year-old self, but she had better bladder control. :S )

Did it hurt to do this? Yes, but not at all in the same way it hurts to run 16+ miles. It was much more…lung-centric. Lina and I have had multiple conversations about how different we are as runners, and one of the biggest ways in which we differ is in our pain preferences. For whatever reason, I seem to deal with the kind of pain induced by a fast mile better than Lina, but Lina can most definitely deal with long distance pain better than I can. I think that’s why we make such good training partners :).

Today was fun. I’m happy. That is all.

-Run Monster

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
