Run Monster

Someone got hit…by the Crazy Stick.

I’m not quite sure what to say. I feel strong, accomplished, embarrassed, and crazy all at once, and let me tell you: it is a seriously strange cocktail. What’s behind these feelings? Well, since you asked, Lina and I ran 30 miles in two days!!! Holy cow, right?!?

This not only breaks my record for “Most Miles Logged in 48 Hours,” it also breaks my record for “Most Miles Logged in 72 Hours.” The fact that I was able to do this makes me feel strong, and the fact that I actually did it makes me feel accomplished. However…there’s more to this story that explains the other two emotions. The deal is, we were supposed to run 10 miles on Saturday and 20 miles on Sunday (today) as part of our training plan. Hal Higdon knows his stuff, and Lina and I knew exactly what we were getting ourselves into when we opted for the Advanced 1 Marathon Training Plan, so despite what the normal person would think, this in itself is not why I feel embarrassed or crazy.

IMG_3145

I feel embarrassed and crazy because I ran 8 on Saturday, 20 today, and then…2 more today. I did not decide to make up the two miles on the long run and do 22. This would have been a decent option for making up two measly miles, but I was running with Lina and there was no way I was going to add two miles onto the end of the run alone. (Lina did not skimp on her Saturday run, and hence had no reason to do more than 20. Respect.) What I did was the following:

1) Completed the 20 miles with Lina

2) Cooled down, made/ate breakfast

3) Went home

4) Got into bed and started to write my post

5) Got out of bed AND RAN TWO MORE MILES, LIKE A PSYCHO, BECAUSE 30 MILES IN TWO DAYS SOUNDS BETTER THAN 28 MILES IN TWO DAYS.

True story. Ensue feelings of lunacy. And that’s really all there is to it: I wanted to say that I ran 30 miles in two days, and saying I ran 28 miles in two days wasn’t going to cut it.

One of my roommates was home when I got back originally and I actually snuck back out of my apartment so that she wouldn’t see me heading off to run again. (You know how they say that if you would be ashamed if someone found out, it’s probably bad? Yeah. That.) Unfortunately, Nick and Lina were still in the area after giving me a ride to my car, and they dropped by to see my new place just seconds after I got back. So they caught me. Damn it!

And now my roommate also knows that I went running for a second time in one day after doing a long run. I so badly want to go downstairs and explain that I don’t have an exercise/eating disorder, but I honestly don’t think my real reason for running two miles randomly after logging 20 miles just hours before will make me sound any more mentally stable. In fact, I’m positive that it won’t. So I just have to wait for the embarrassment to subside, and hope that if I pretend it didn’t happen, she’ll forget that it did.

Of course, Lina and Nick both just laughed at me and I know that Lina ‘gets it’, so I actually think it’s all very funny, myself.

Anyway, I should also mention the 20 miler because it went swimmingly and we beat our time from the last time we ran this 20 route! We both took a train to Norristown, ran along the Schuylkill River trail until we got into the city, and then finished off by trekking through West Philly until we made it home.

We decided to break the run into 5-mile chunks, in which we did 3 miles at 8:45 pace and 2 miles at 8:15 pace. This format was awesome. The time/distance went by so quickly, and it honestly felt good to vary the pace occasionally, even when that meant speeding up. The quick parts put a spring our step, and the slow parts were a nice recovery. It was also extremely helpful to focus on only the next 2-3 miles, because before we knew it, we were onto the next phase.

Overall the run was great not only because we were happy with our times (negative splits!), but because we both felt good physically and mentally. When we got back, I made us a German Apple Pancake and some bacon, which were the cherry on top of a fantastic morning. Words can only say so much, so I’ll give you 6000 more (proverbially) with the following photos:

Waiting for the train, 6:30 am

Waiting for the train, 6:30 am

Stats

Stats

Sassy stretching

Sassy stretching

German Apple Pancake

German Apple Pancake

Bacon

Bacon

Happiness

Happiness

So there you have it. After this weekend, I am beginning to really look forward to Chicago!!

-Run Monster

One comment on “Someone got hit…by the Crazy Stick.

  1. Lina
    August 25, 2013

    hahaha i just wanted to let you know that i was literally laughing out loud while reading your post. I hope your roommate thinks you’re crazy…because, well, to the sane/non-runner/normal person, you kinda are. But, like you said, I totally get it 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
