Run Monster

Tough Mudder tough calls.

What a crazy week it’s been!

I RAN 3 miles on Thursday and felt great! My right leg felt almost back to normal, and when I was stretching afterward, I noticed a considerable difference in my flexibility. The active rest (i.e. hot yoga) and frequent icing worked! In the days since the run, my leg has only gotten better. I am finally able to descend stairs without favoring my left leg, and I can no longer feel my IT band when I’m just sitting. I’m so happy.  And here, for the first time in weeks, I give you some Garmin stats:

Screen shot 2013-05-30 at 11.45.16 AM

 

 

In the last two weeks before the Providence marathon, 8:50 min/mile pace felt difficult to me due to overtraining. This was particularly frustrating since Lina and I had run our 20 miler at an 8:40 pace and it felt amazing. I’m pleased to report that I felt like I was being gentle with myself on Thursday during this tentative first run, and managed to average 8:54 pace. This means that not only is my IT band feeling better, but my muscles have recovered as well! It was a hard lesson to learn – to not overtrain, to have to rest – but I’m glad I learned it with my first marathon. Hopefully this knowledge will help me to stay healthy in training in my future training cycles!

 

But now it’s time to talk about the Tough Mudder.

I decided not to run it, but this was not an easy decision. I’ve wanted to run the 2013 Tough Mudder ever since finishing the one in 2012, and I felt responsible for getting Lina and Nick to sign up for the race in the first place; I felt lame and selfish and flaky for even considering bailing on them. On the other hand, I knew that if I did it I was going to throw away all the hours of rest and icing I’ve done over the past 3 weeks, putting this upcoming training cycle in jeopardy. Yes, I had already paid the very high $150 entry fee for the Tough Mudder, but I would rather throw the money away than put my health at risk. I’ve put my heart into running marathons, and I’m running the Chicago marathon for charity, so ultimately I had to think about the long term repercussions.

For the millionth time, Lina and Nick showed what amazing, selfless friends they are and didn’t make me feel bad about opting out. They were so understanding. Because I ended up not racing, I tried to make it up to them by being a good cheerleader. It was actually really fun just to watch, and I managed to get some great pictures of them:

IMG_2851

 

IMG_2876

 

IMG_2879

 

 

I hope we can get an even bigger team together next year and do it. Lina and Nick had a great time (minus the electric shock obstacles!), and absolutely rocked it. They passed people that had started over an hour before they did, and they completed every obstacle. I highly encourage reading her blog about her experience.

As for me, I’m extremely happy with my decision now. The course was brutal, much hillier (and much hotter) than last year, and I know it would have been disaster for my leg. I am planning on going on another run tonight, and I am beyond thankful that I feel good going in to it.

-Run Monster

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 2, 2013 by in Weekly Runs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
