Run Monster

Faith restored.

Day 3 of my Bikram adventure was the best experience yet. I was pretty terrified of returning after Day 2, but this time Abbe decided to come with me and I felt a sort of “strength in numbers” mentality come over me that motivated me to try it again. (Or maybe, “misery loves company” is more appropriate?) I’m so glad I did it again, because I realized that the experience of the class depends immensely on the individual instructor. This seems pretty obvious in hindsight since each instructor has a unique personality that is bound to peak through as they talk you through the poses, but what I didn’t realize is that the instructors’ personalities can also be expressed through the physical environment. The temperature of the room can vary, and last time I had an instructor that is notorious for cranking the temperature way up.

NOTED.

I’ll try to avoid classes where I’m periodically reminded of the sweat lodge deaths in Sedona from a few years back. Anyways, the room didn’t make me or Abbe want to pass out upon entering it, and Abbe made the observation that the room kind of just felt like being on the beach in Florida. Nice! This third time I was noticeably more limber and while this wasn’t reflected in my ability to do the poses any better (boo), the difference in the way I felt was huge (yay!). I still miss those non-Bikram poses I mentioned last time, but I found a hot yoga studio just a little further away that I think steps out of the strict Bikram format. I’m going to try it out next.

Maybe what I’m most excited about from today, though, is the fact that Abbe’s first experience was good enough to make her want to keep going, which means that I don’t always have to go alone! If Lina likes it too, we can be one happy, sweaty little exercise group. This idea makes me really happy because for years I’ve done all my exercise solo, and I’ve loved having a running buddy so much that I know having exercise buddies in general will be great.

And I’m now off to a Memorial Day BBQ, to undo all that work this morning :).

-Run Monster

P.S. I still miss running. A lot.

4 comments on “Faith restored.

  1. Little Miss Fit
    May 26, 2013

    Love this post! Super excited to hear about your experience. I’m going Tuesday to my first class and I’m really anxious/nervous/excited about it. I’ve heard so many good things about it…I know I just need to push past the initial crappy first sessions and then the good will start to outweigh the bad! 😀

    • runmonster
      May 27, 2013

      Have a great time! It really is different from anything I’d ever done before. Just listen to your body and it will be awesome!

  2. Lina
    May 29, 2013

    I’ll definitely go with you to bikram soon…reading about your experiences with yoga makes me really want to do it! going to spend the morning looking up yoga studios… 🙂

    • runmonster
      May 29, 2013

      Yay! I’m looking forward to sharing yet another grueling, sweaty experience with you haha.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
