Run Monster

Heartbroken about Boston.

I am so upset about the explosions at the Boston Marathon yesterday, 4/15/13. Anger. Confusion. Fear. Heartbreak.

I pray for the victims and their families, and in particular, those people who have experienced first-hand not only yesterday’s bombing, but also the murders at Sandy Hook Elementary. I can’t even begin to wrap my head around how they feel or what they’ve seen.

I have to remind myself that in times like these, faith in humanity can always be restored by looking for the acts of bravery and selflessness among the helpers and the victims themselves. There are always so many.

If we ever find out who was behind this, I will try to never learn the names of the aggressors. I will only devote energy to knowing the names of the victims and heroes. They are the only ones that deserve attention from all of this.

When I run Providence in a month, I will run in honor of those injured and killed in yesterday’s bombings. Safety, the ability to run, and most importantly, life itself, are more precious than I acknowledge on a daily basis. Yesterday reminded me of this, so I will run for the people for whom those things were taken away.

-Run Monster

2 comments on “Heartbroken about Boston.

  1. linagrant
    April 17, 2013

    “When I run Providence in a month, I will run in honor of those injured and killed in yesterday’s bombings.” —my thoughts exactly…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
