Run Monster

Buttermilk Pancakes with Spiced Peach Compote.

My long run days are my favorite days for two reasons: I always have a great sense of accomplishment by noon, and Lina and I always make and eat a fancy breakfast afterwards. This week, breakfast was held at my apartment and I made buttermilk pancakes with spiced peach compote. I did not take pictures because I have yet to master the temperature of my griddle (and actually I don’t have a griddle, I have a large nonstick frying pan), so the pancakes were just not that pretty. They were fluffy, seriously fluffy, but that perfect pancake color was nowhere to be seen. However, everything was so delicious that I have to share.

This particular pancake recipe comes from the Spring 2013 Best of Fine Cooking Breakfast & Brunch magazine, and the recipe itself is credited to Carolyn Weil. I adore the recipe because it is super simple and the pancakes are ridiculously fluffy. Also, I prefer pancake recipes that do not have sugar in them since I like pancakes to get their sweetness from toppings! Here is the recipe link:

Buttermilk Pancakes

The extremely important sidekick to these buttermilk pancakes was a spiced peach compote. I had sliced peaches in my freezer from this past summer when I picked them at Highland Orchards, and I wanted to use them with the pancakes. I didn’t want to just put them on top of the pancakes, although if they had been fresh that wouldn’t have been a bad way to go. I searched the internet for ideas on peach compotes, and was inspired by this post. I altered the recipe slightly, so here is my version:

 

Spiced Peach Compote

-3 fresh or frozen peaches, peeled and thinly sliced

-1 tbsp butter

-Juice from 1/2 a lemon (1-2 tbsp)

-1 tsp sugar

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-1/4 tsp ground cardamom

-1/4 tsp ground ginger

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat. When the compote begins to boil, reduce heat to low and periodically stir/ mash the peaches. After 10 minutes, the compote is ready to serve.

 

The compote turned out wonderfully and ended up being the perfect accessory to the pancakes. I might get some vanilla ice cream later and use the remainder of the compote as a sundae topping. Mmmmm. I can’t wait.

-Run Monster

2 comments on “Buttermilk Pancakes with Spiced Peach Compote.

  1. linagrant
    March 31, 2013

    This was sooo delicious! I have pictures of this, btw, which I should have texted you. Darn.

    I showed Nick these pictures and he was, predictably, very jealous…

    • runmonster
      March 31, 2013

      Don’t worry about the pictures, and tell Nick that since the recipe is now online, there’s no reason he can’t recreate our breakfast someday 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2013 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
