Run Monster

The birth of Run Monster

Welcome to my first blog post ever! The Run Monster has been born!

Let me start off by saying that I never thought I’d have a blog, but, I recently embarked on a running journey that I decided needs to be chronicled. I’m going to train for a marathon! (More on this on the ‘My Running Story’ page.) Additionally, I’ve been having tons of thoughts about all things running (motivation, training, workout clothes, races, nutrition, etc.) and in order to avoid boring my friends and family with all these thoughts, I think a running blog is in order.

I want to reflect on the long training run I did yesterday and explain where ‘Run Monster’ came from. My run was memorable for two reasons: 1) it is the farthest I’ve run to date (15 miles!) and 2) the Run Monster was born! Well really, the Run Monster has been forming since I started running in high school, but it never had a name until yesterday. The name came to me as I was relishing the pain of the run. There’s something a bit crazy, a bit ‘off’ about people that do runs that long, and I thought to myself, “What kind of monster puts his/her own body through something like this willingly?” Answer: A Run Monster! Running, cartoon monsters started forming in my head and since I adore cartoon monsters (think How to Train Your Dragon or Monsters, Inc. ), I got pretty excited. I pictured one living in my head, partying every time I go for a run, urging me to sign up for races, and most notably, screaming at me to keep going when I feel like stopping. It’s this tough-as-nails little alter ego that is cute yet ferocious and totally fearless.

Me (upper left) and my two dear, loyal friends before the 15 miler, and me (lower right) after :)

Me (upper left) and my two dear, loyal friends before the 15 miler, and me after (lower right)

On a slightly more serious note, I hope to use this blog as a way to not only babble about my own running thoughts, but also as a way to motivate others to find their own run monsters. I am elated whenever I hear that one of my friends has decided to start running, because regardless of your experience or your pace or the number of races you’ve completed, anyone that runs can talk about the pain, excitement, struggle, and ecstasy that accompany the sport. It is a great thing to be a part of a growing community that builds each other up, so I’m here to do that.

-Run Monster

5 comments on “The birth of Run Monster

  1. Welcome to the blogging world! I’m new, too. Started in January. Lots of fun!!

    • runmonster
      March 20, 2013

      Thank you! It looks like you’re off to a great start!

  2. moveeatcreate
    March 19, 2013

    Welcome to the blogosphere! I, too, am training for my first marathon. Good luck to you!

    • runmonster
      March 20, 2013

      Thank you for visiting my site! And good luck with the marathon training too!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 19, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 40 other followers

Next Race

BRMC Feel the Love 5kFebruary 8th, 2014
